Topklasse Discussion Board  
Home Forum Legal/Privacy Media/Picture Gallery Websites and Links Technical

Go Back   Topklasse Discussion Board > THE EXPERIENCE - DRIVING PLEASURE > MERCEDES W107

MERCEDES W107 Discussion specific to the W107 model

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th February 2012, 09:23 AM
sean sherry sean sherry is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,104
Default air con pressure switch

I rebuilt the compressor now very efficient but the tight belt squeals when hot after running for a while. The compressor seems to load up. Is there a test for the pressure switch ? Should the switch turn off the clutch as necessary ? Thanks Sean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th February 2012, 10:31 AM
abl567's Avatar
abl567 abl567 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,794
Default Re: air con pressure switch

Possibly the system is overcharged, resulting in the compressed liquid not fully expanding through the tx valve into the evaporator coil aowing liquid to flood back to the compressor, loading up the compressor. Most automotive systems have a low pressure cut out to prevent the compressor running without gas and therefore coolant and lubricant. they generally dont have a high head pressure control
__________________
W109 300SEL
#2723 6.3
#8659 3.5
W208 CLK430
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th February 2012, 03:25 PM
sean sherry sean sherry is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: air con pressure switch

Thanks I had some of the gas let out, too much, had to put half back in. Is there not a switch which turns off the compressor when gas expands with heat and builds up too much pressure ? I'm not realy sure how it all works. Sean
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th February 2012, 10:01 AM
Tony66_au's Avatar
Tony66_au Tony66_au is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gippsland, Vic
Posts: 2,307
Default Re: air con pressure switch

As ABL said it sounds like your system is overcharged, you may also have the wrong belt as there are many factors involved including the angle of the V if it is a V belt and adjustable tensioners etc

Aircon gas is measured by weight BTW when in its liquid form and it isnt really something that can be guessed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th February 2012, 10:53 AM
Helmet Helmet is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: air con pressure switch

What brand compressor do you have and does your Receiver dryer have 2 switches ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th February 2012, 11:35 AM
sean sherry sean sherry is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,104
Question Re: air con pressure switch

Yes there are two switches ,one switches on the fan and is working Ok The other next to it is a pressure switch ( ? ) the system was charged by a current machine and to Specs. I take the point about the correct angle of the belt. I'll take it off and see where it is driving. Please confirm if the
" Pressure switch " controls the compressor clutch ,i.e., the compressor cycles on and off as necessary according to temperature and load ? ? ? Ps The compressor is a York
Thanks Sean
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th February 2012, 12:58 PM
sean sherry sean sherry is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: air con pressure switch

I have found a web site on York Compressors To quote "they are crude twin cylinder units with no internal balance " " Load up when hot and vibrate "
Fits mine to the Tee. Cure replace it with a newer 6 cyl. unit . no vibrations and 3 HP draw instead of 7 I feel that my belt is ok as it drives fine and only struggles when the unit is pretty hot and starting to vibrate.. Sounds like the nature of the beast. Maybe not as severe as on the 350 & 450 V8s with much more low down torque .thanks to all...... Sean
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th February 2012, 01:08 PM
Helmet Helmet is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: air con pressure switch

M110 engines have a tendency to crack the idler pulley bracket. This results in the belt never being tight enough. maybe check it?
I've been changing over York compressor to Sanden for a few years now, they work more efficiently, quite smooth and freezing cold.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dead Window Switch 300SDude INTERIORS 4 27th October 2011 11:25 AM
Switch panel Styria INTERIORS 2 12th February 2011 04:45 AM
Ignition switch removal mrkozzy INTERIORS 4 26th January 2011 01:00 PM
Oil Pressure Puzzle john erbe MECHANICALS 4 11th December 2010 02:08 PM
Oil Pressure Michel MERCEDES W116 18 29th December 2008 05:20 AM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright Topklasse 2017