Topklasse Discussion Board  
Home Forum Legal/Privacy Media/Picture Gallery Websites and Links Technical

Go Back   Topklasse Discussion Board > THE CRAFTSMAN - TECHNICAL DEPARTMENT > MECHANICALS

MECHANICALS With a 30 year-old automobile, there will always be discussion here - maintenance, modifications and mechanicals.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th October 2011, 10:38 AM
Oversize's Avatar
Oversize Oversize is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,195
Default 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

If you had the choice of any transmission to sit behind an M100, what would it be and why? How many gears would be ideal? Top Gear mentioned that some of the 8 speeders were no good, as the transmissions couldn't decide on a gear!

I know this has been mentioned in other threads, but I thought I'd dedicate a specific one to the issue. I don't think a manual would suit the saloon nature of the W116, so are there any advances on the GM TH700?? I know my AU four speeder is nice, but I doubt it'd handle the NM and there's obvious issues with the control module etc...
__________________
Mark

01 Ford AU 5L (Deep Blue)
89 560L#322020
88 500L#451660-P
88 420L#422477-P
87 420L#324309-P
87 420L#-P
88 420L Euro#-P
88 420L#-P
86 560L#235896-P
79 6.9#5541 (Red Bull)
78 6.9#4248 (Skye)
79 6.9#3686 (Moby Dick)
78 6.9#1776 (Dora)
77 450L#067010-P
75 450L#028414 (Gold Nugget)-P
57 Buick 73A (Titanic)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th October 2011, 10:52 AM
motec 6.9's Avatar
motec 6.9 motec 6.9 is offline
Prodigal Son
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: perth
Posts: 5,914
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Hi Mark i have a adaptor to fit a Turbo700 behind my 6.9 but the cost of upgrading the th700 to handle the torque is prohibative. If you look on ebay the current v12 biturbo 5 speed can be bought for about $2000 us it is rated to 1000nm no other trans is .So i have been asking about adapting 1 behind a m-100 will need stand alone control computer .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th October 2011, 11:41 AM
Oversize's Avatar
Oversize Oversize is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,195
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

I think that 8 speeder I was talking about was in the Lexus ISF and according to TG it sounded like errrrr, ahhhhh, errrrrrr, ahhhhh, errrrrr!!! I think the cost of the TH700 conversion is prohibitive, simply based on the cost of the adapter from Big Boys!!

Motec (or anyone else), do you know what the original 6.9 trans is rated to?
__________________
Mark

01 Ford AU 5L (Deep Blue)
89 560L#322020
88 500L#451660-P
88 420L#422477-P
87 420L#324309-P
87 420L#-P
88 420L Euro#-P
88 420L#-P
86 560L#235896-P
79 6.9#5541 (Red Bull)
78 6.9#4248 (Skye)
79 6.9#3686 (Moby Dick)
78 6.9#1776 (Dora)
77 450L#067010-P
75 450L#028414 (Gold Nugget)-P
57 Buick 73A (Titanic)

Last edited by Oversize; 14th October 2011 at 11:54 AM. Reason: More
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th October 2011, 11:48 AM
Michel's Avatar
Michel Michel is offline
One Of The Boys
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,491
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

What does an E55 or C63 use?
Surely one of those would have enough strength to take the torque...
__________________
Michel

1978 W116 690SEL # 3312
1985 R107 500SL AMG
2000 W208 CLK430 Coupe
2003 W163 ML320
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th October 2011, 12:06 PM
motec 6.9's Avatar
motec 6.9 motec 6.9 is offline
Prodigal Son
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: perth
Posts: 5,914
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Hi Michel the trans in the e55 is the same as the S65 S600 biturbo. It is rated to 1000nm the 7speed is not fitted to these cars becauce it cannot handle that level of torque. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5G-Tronic I hope this helps i was looking this morning on ebay they sell for about $2500 US from wreckers in the US. PS Mark & Michel it is also fitted to 300c but lower spec version
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th October 2011, 12:10 PM
Michel's Avatar
Michel Michel is offline
One Of The Boys
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,491
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by motec 6.9 View Post
Hi Michel the trans in the e55 is the same as the S65 S600 biturbo. It is rated to 1000nm the 7speed is not fitted to these cars becauce it cannot handle that level of torque. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5G-Tronic I hope this helps i was looking this morning on ebay they sell for about $2500 US from wreckers in the US. PS Mark & Michel it is also fitted to 300c but lower spec version
One needs to find the right mechanic (lateral thinker) who can adapt it and then affix a computer to the wiring and make it work reliably!
I feel 5 speeds should be a HUGE leap in performance in a stock 6.9
__________________
Michel

1978 W116 690SEL # 3312
1985 R107 500SL AMG
2000 W208 CLK430 Coupe
2003 W163 ML320

Last edited by Michel; 14th October 2011 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Spelling Correction
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th October 2011, 01:14 PM
motec 6.9's Avatar
motec 6.9 motec 6.9 is offline
Prodigal Son
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: perth
Posts: 5,914
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Hi Tony there is a Valiant over here in Perth with SRT8 drive train .It was at recent hod rod show at Berswood . I spoke with the owner using Haltech engine computer with PCS powertrain computer. http://www.powertraincontrolsolution...anscontrol.php i hope this helps they list 722 mercedes trans in there list or you could go with http://www.fuelairspark.com/Products...r/benefits.asp they list chrysler and KHM use's there efi on his supercharged W100

Last edited by motec 6.9; 14th October 2011 at 01:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th October 2011, 03:51 PM
Tony66_au's Avatar
Tony66_au Tony66_au is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gippsland, Vic
Posts: 2,307
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversize View Post
I'd say it's the transmission that was put into this '54 Buick (from a G55), but then again, so was everything else! Just have a look at the looms that were transferred over!!!

http://www.radrides.com/proj.htm

The security features would be incorported in the ECU/s for the transmission and if they're removed and a stand-alone ECU installed, it should work; in theory! The big question is where to source such a computer?? And how much...
The issue Mark was that the system checks for a Vin encoded into each item and the ABS computer is the key.

You will get the engine going but without a lot of the features that made the 300C such a fun car to drive including the shut down of one bank of cylinders in light traffic etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by motec 6.9 View Post
Hi Tony there is a Valiant over here in Perth with SRT8 drive train .It was at recent hod rod show at Berswood . I spoke with the owner using Haltech engine computer with PCS powertrain computer. http://www.powertraincontrolsolution...anscontrol.php i hope this helps they list 722 mercedes trans in there list or you could go with http://www.fuelairspark.com/Products...r/benefits.asp they list chrysler and KHM use's there efi on his supercharged W100
The someone has finally developed a system for this combo as it couldnt be done a few years ago although id have figured Haltech would be the people to do it.

Previous efforts involved using an aftermarket EFI system and playing with the transmission with much gnashing of teeth and swearing.

The other way to do it is to buy a V8 Mopar crate engine, big block or otherwise which comes without fuel system and add your own which you can do right up to the V10 used in Dodge Ram trucks and Vipers (or whatever they call them today.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th October 2011, 04:04 PM
Michel's Avatar
Michel Michel is offline
One Of The Boys
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,491
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Hmmmmm...

T700 is sounding more and more interesting!
__________________
Michel

1978 W116 690SEL # 3312
1985 R107 500SL AMG
2000 W208 CLK430 Coupe
2003 W163 ML320
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th October 2011, 04:46 PM
motec 6.9's Avatar
motec 6.9 motec 6.9 is offline
Prodigal Son
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: perth
Posts: 5,914
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Hi Michel did you click on pcs 750 for transcomputer i believe haltech are working on 1 as well. as for the cost of trans there was more than 1 on ebay in US . Knowing what i have been quoted for th700 to handle torque i have been told to use 4le80 trans cost goes up quickly
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14th October 2011, 08:32 PM
Michel's Avatar
Michel Michel is offline
One Of The Boys
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,491
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by motec 6.9 View Post
Hi Michel did you click on pcs 750 for transcomputer i believe haltech are working on 1 as well. as for the cost of trans there was more than 1 on ebay in US . Knowing what i have been quoted for th700 to handle torque i have been told to use 4le80 trans cost goes up quickly
I have a T700 behind my 454-powered 62 Chev wagon.
That big block produces some serious torque, trust me.

In my opinion, unless you are planjing to modify it, the 6.9 can be easily handled by the T700
__________________
Michel

1978 W116 690SEL # 3312
1985 R107 500SL AMG
2000 W208 CLK430 Coupe
2003 W163 ML320
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14th October 2011, 10:18 PM
motec 6.9's Avatar
motec 6.9 motec 6.9 is offline
Prodigal Son
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: perth
Posts: 5,914
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Hi Mark & Michel here are the prices for a 722 trans from v12biturbo http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MERCEDES-...item518dbc290d and http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/00-06-MER...item4ce92f4c1e i hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18th July 2014, 03:48 AM
motec 6.9's Avatar
motec 6.9 motec 6.9 is offline
Prodigal Son
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: perth
Posts: 5,914
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Ok Mark this is what I am talking about http://www.moparmax.com/tech/2012/vi...mission-1.html http://www.shophemi.com/c-1154-autom...smissions.aspx . Its cheaper to buy upgraded trans from US and as I said Chrysler hot up boys have jumped on board so price and stronger parts are being made. Bell housing only difference and it unbolts .
__________________
Research more post less.
Memnoch #1873 6.9 255.6 RWHP
The Kommando believed only 1 in Oz
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18th July 2014, 04:50 AM
Styria's Avatar
Styria Styria is offline
The Godfather
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,146
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

What an excellent and informative post. Regards. Styria
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18th July 2014, 06:04 AM
motec 6.9's Avatar
motec 6.9 motec 6.9 is offline
Prodigal Son
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: perth
Posts: 5,914
Default Re: 6.9 Transmission Upgrade

Now I no I can buy the transmission and I can get it fitted and buy cpu. Just need to allocate the funds to do so.
__________________
Research more post less.
Memnoch #1873 6.9 255.6 RWHP
The Kommando believed only 1 in Oz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seat upgrade Oversize INTERIORS 2 26th August 2011 06:29 PM
Sound upgrade BAR MERCEDES W116 0 13th March 2009 10:22 AM
116 Performance upgrade. Is it possible? booshand TALKING TORQUE 8 10th September 2008 10:35 PM
Upgrade your 6.9's braking capacity?! SELfor50 TRADING POST/EBAY LISTINGS 5 17th August 2008 07:44 AM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright Topklasse 2017