Topklasse Discussion Board  
Home Forum Legal/Privacy Media/Picture Gallery Websites and Links Technical

Go Back   Topklasse Discussion Board > THE CRAFTSMAN - TECHNICAL DEPARTMENT > INTERIORS

INTERIORS Its whats on the inside that counts... from dashboards to door handles you will find it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th July 2019, 02:06 PM
Pete49 Pete49 is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pt Augusta
Posts: 14
Default gauge problem

Actually a couple questions. On my 450SEL the fuel gauge works when it feels like. Temp,oil pressure and amp gauge all ok. I've checked the tank sender and its ok. Sometimes all of them stop and then work again but the fuel gauge not so much.
Also a question on the speedo. Its in mph and I have access to a kph version but wonder if it would be out due to gearing?
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th July 2019, 03:43 PM
Oversize's Avatar
Oversize Oversize is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,798
Default Re: gauge problem

Pull out the sender & remove the protective cover. Reconnect the sender to the loom & with the ignition on move the float up n down. Erattic movement will indicate a bad contact. Check the earths for the cluster too.

If both Kmh & mph speedos have the same max speed Id assume they would read correctly.
__________________
Mark

01 Ford AU 5L (Deep Blue)
88 420L Euro#-P
88 420L#-P
88 420L#2477-P
87 560L#2020 (Dora 2)
87 560L #9987
87 420L#4309-P
87 420L#-P
86 560L#5896-P
79 6.9#5541 (Red Bull)
78 6.9#4248 (Skye)
79 6.9#3686 (Moby Dick)
78 6.9#1776 (Dora 1)
77 450L#7010-P
75 450L#8414 (Gold Nugget)-P
57 Buick 73A (Titanic)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th July 2019, 12:26 AM
c107's Avatar
c107 c107 is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,808
Default Re: gauge problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete49 View Post
Also a question on the speedo. Its in mph and I have access to a kph version but wonder if it would be out due to gearing?
Pete
Yes if also from a 450. Will be out if from a 280/350. Also shift points would be wrong.
__________________
Bryce
http://www.classicjalopy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th July 2019, 04:39 PM
Pete49 Pete49 is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pt Augusta
Posts: 14
Default Re: gauge problem

Thanks guys. I'll check it out during the week and report back
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th September 2019, 02:44 PM
Pete49 Pete49 is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pt Augusta
Posts: 14
Default Re: gauge problem

OK I'm sticking with the original speedo and now use a HUD in km/h.

The sender was good so worked out its definitely an earth problem. Any one have an idea as to which wire on the coupler to the instrument panel is the earth? Can I just run an earth wire to the panel that has the gauges as the clock side is OK. I will be re-soldering the earth connection to the fuel gauge too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th September 2019, 04:13 PM
c107's Avatar
c107 c107 is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,808
Default Re: gauge problem

Somebody did add an extra earth to the instrument cluster of my 300SE. Unfortunately, I didn't take a picture of it, so probably not much help. it was an extra ring connection on to one of the screws that touched a metal bit.
__________________
Bryce
http://www.classicjalopy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th September 2019, 04:22 PM
c107's Avatar
c107 c107 is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,808
Default Re: gauge problem

it might have been to one of the screws that goes into the bar at the bottom of the picture. I could be mistaken though.

__________________
Bryce
http://www.classicjalopy.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th September 2019, 01:18 PM
Pete49 Pete49 is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pt Augusta
Posts: 14
Default Re: gauge problem

Thanks c107 that's what I'm considering so looks like it will work for me too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Styria's wax problem sean sherry INTERIORS 3 24th September 2013 10:47 PM
Air con. problem 280SL 107 '81 sean sherry MERCEDES W107 5 23rd December 2012 09:26 AM
rpm gauge arcijack MERCEDES W107 5 5th September 2012 11:54 AM
Temperature Gauge Stopped Working digitalzed MECHANICALS 1 6th August 2009 02:00 PM
Houston - we've got a problem WGB INTERIORS 5 28th December 2008 12:37 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright Topklasse 2017