Topklasse Discussion Board  
Home Forum Legal/Privacy Media/Picture Gallery Websites and Links Technical

Go Back   Topklasse Discussion Board > THE EXPERIENCE - DRIVING PLEASURE > ARTICLES

ARTICLES Articles related to our beloved cars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 21st January 2012, 02:40 PM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

Try the photo again!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg W107.jpg (245.1 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22nd January 2012, 06:56 AM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

Wrong photo. I'll try again! Is the instrument panel suposed to sit out fron the dash ?


W107.jpg
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22nd January 2012, 07:16 AM
BenzBoy BenzBoy is offline
Noble
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney - Centre of Civilisation
Posts: 6,447
Default Re: Dash board wiring

No - it should not sit out from the cowl like that. It would seem something is not sitting correctly behind it - maybe the speedo cable has come too far through the firewall and need to go further back?
Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22nd January 2012, 07:18 AM
Oversize's Avatar
Oversize Oversize is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,917
Default Re: Dash board wiring

No it's not. Quite often the seal is positioned incorrectly, or can become misaligned. It should sit up against the first ridge around the cluster housing. Yes the speedo cable, oil pressure pipe and all the wiring can prevent the housing sitting correctly, so make sure it's all neat and tucked away. You may even need to remove the underdash trims to guide it all back into position. Good luck!
__________________
Mark

01 Ford AU 5L (Deep Blue)
89 560L#322020
88 500L#451660-P
88 420L#422477-P
87 420L#324309-P
87 420L#-P
88 420L Euro#-P
88 420L#-P
86 560L#235896-P
79 6.9#5541 (Red Bull)
79 6.9#5398-P
78 6.9#4248 (Skye)-P
79 6.9#3686 (Moby Dick)
78 6.9#1776 (Dora)
77 450L#067010-P
75 450L#028414 (Gold Nugget)-P
57 Buick 73A (Titanic)

Last edited by Oversize; 22nd January 2012 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 22nd January 2012, 08:57 AM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

OK here I goagai! Wish me like
Col
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 22nd January 2012, 09:58 AM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

OK now without speedo , oil and wiring the insrtument panel will not go in any further than it did before. Can't see any witness marks so the next step is to smear in grease and see what hits first. It appears to hit at the top on the "cardboard' . Please see photos and see if anyone can pick if something is wrong. I even took the radio out so I could pull the speedo and oil lines but it still won't fit with all of them out of the way.This is turning into a hammer job
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Todays fustration 1 (1024x768).jpg (163.2 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg Todays fustration 2 (1024x768).jpg (139.7 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg Todays fustration 3 (1024x768).jpg (140.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg Todays fustration 4 (1024x768).jpg (116.8 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg Todays fustration 5 (1024x768).jpg (110.7 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 22nd January 2012, 11:46 AM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Angry Re: Dash board wiring

I give up!!!!!!!
Looks like that is how it is going to stay. I can't see how it can go back any further at the top.when ffered up to the dash it always looks like the top is 1/4" further out than the bottom and sides. I will have to find a wreck to see if Ican see the problem. Not pretty but run out of ideas and I would like to get back on the road
Col..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 22nd January 2012, 04:47 PM
Styria's Avatar
Styria Styria is offline
The Godfather
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,110
Default Re: Dash board wiring

I hate to say it, Testie, but the photos are not really brilliant, are they ? Tell me, has the instrument cluster ever fitted properly, or only since you pulled it out to fix whatever ? The pin plug - you know the one that's been giving you grief. Also tell me, has the dash been replaced/re-skinned at some time ? What can happen is that the dash can get out of shape, and then the instrument panel can become an unsightly fit, such as appears evident in your case. Are you in Sydney - I take it that you are and, if so, you may wish to call around some time. I'm not Mr. Magic, but I have fair ideas. Regards Styria
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 22nd January 2012, 05:51 PM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

As far as I know the dash has never been reskined and the instrument panel used to fit before I pulled it out to replace bulbs etc.
Unfortunately I am in Armidale about 555 klms away. I will be in Sydney this weekend but the car won't.
Sorry about the phots must be the resizing that blurs them.
Col
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 22nd January 2012, 06:37 PM
BenzBoy BenzBoy is offline
Noble
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney - Centre of Civilisation
Posts: 6,447
Default Re: Dash board wiring

Logic says that if it fitted OK beofre you took it out then it will go back in. There has to be something that has gone wrong and you will eventually find it - of that, I am confident.
Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 22nd January 2012, 06:56 PM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

I wished I shared your confidence! Even with no connections it does't want to fit. It seems as if the bottom part of the "box" for a lack of a better discription, wants to point the instrument cluster upwards so the bottom goes in but the top will not. I smeared grease on the cardboard , again for the lack of a better description and it looks like the back of the center and r/h side instruments hit therefore not allowing the whole thing to go back.
I will be away for the rest of the week and down to Sydney for the weekend.
Have a great Australia Day and if you get to NRMA moterfest say hello to the gent from Armidale with the 1908 Brush, who is about to drive across Australia in it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 22nd January 2012, 09:19 PM
Oversize's Avatar
Oversize Oversize is offline
Aristocrat
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,917
Default Re: Dash board wiring

Take a pic of the outside of the cluster assembly and I'll take a guess that the seal has become dislodged, or it isn't fitted in the correct position.

Try your camera on macro. Many people think their camera takes the pic as soon as the button is depressed, but there is usually a delay. If you move during this delay, the pic will be a blur. Always wait a second or two, especially if you're using a flash. Another tip is some cameras make a noise when the auto-focus is finished (usually a beep) and if you press the go button prior to this, it's likely the pic will be out of focus.

Links to pics on Photobucket end up with the best results here, rather than simply including them as an attachment (but it takes more time),
__________________
Mark

01 Ford AU 5L (Deep Blue)
89 560L#322020
88 500L#451660-P
88 420L#422477-P
87 420L#324309-P
87 420L#-P
88 420L Euro#-P
88 420L#-P
86 560L#235896-P
79 6.9#5541 (Red Bull)
79 6.9#5398-P
78 6.9#4248 (Skye)-P
79 6.9#3686 (Moby Dick)
78 6.9#1776 (Dora)
77 450L#067010-P
75 450L#028414 (Gold Nugget)-P
57 Buick 73A (Titanic)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 25th January 2012, 06:33 PM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

I'll try again next week and try to get some decent photos posted. Not happy to leave it like it is so maybe a week off is what the dash and I need
Col
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 4th February 2012, 07:18 PM
Testie Testie is offline
Respectable
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Dash board wiring

OK a few photos hopefully clearer.I can pull the top of the instrument panel out with ease. I know that it used to fit correctly from old photos.Anybody got any idea as to what I am doing wong?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Easily pulled out.jpg (53.8 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg Top from right 2.jpg (63.8 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Top from right.jpg (53.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Top of dash.jpg (45.5 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Dash from left.jpg (51.9 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Bottom left.jpg (55.5 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 5th February 2012, 05:25 PM
Styria's Avatar
Styria Styria is offline
The Godfather
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,110
Default Re: Dash board wiring

Hi Testie, I hate to be a nark - your photos show me very little, if anything at all. Would you consider Photobucket ? (As Mark has suggested ?) That way, we may have an even chance. For example............



Regards Styria
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6.9 wiring diagram - Early and Late Models WGB TECHNICAL INFORMATION 2 8th June 2011 09:07 AM
Got a tare on vinyl or crack on dash board? BenzLover INTERIORS 2 29th October 2010 08:17 PM
Overview of this Child Board Styria WEBSITES AND LINKS 0 3rd November 2009 06:39 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright Topklasse 2017