PDA

View Full Version : Aircond compressor replacement


AAB
12th March 2009, 11:15 AM
Now that the heat is almost gone in Victoria, I am going to replace my oil leaking compressor.

I have a unit ready to put in, but are there any pitfalls for me doing the installation, apart getting covered in oil & various gook ?

Should the old system have to be purged before I install the comp, or would that be done when I get it recharged ?

Alternatively, who is the W116 aircond guru in Victoria, preferably Melbourne ?

Regards,

Alex

WGB
12th March 2009, 11:25 AM
There are a number of extra questions and most are around what the gas is in your present system and what you will have in it when finished.

F12 and H134a usually have different lubricant specs and if you will be converting from the now (generally) unavailable F12 I would ask someone clever as it may not be a simple manner of swapping one compressor for another.

Bill

BAR
12th March 2009, 11:49 AM
As identified previously... has your system already been converted to the environmentally kinder refridgerant?

Before replacing the existing compressor, you should line up an A/c service agent who will refill and test the system once your part is completed.

Also you might just speak with them about extracting all existing refridgerant so as not to contribute to the hole in the ozone layer [if you're that kind of person].

As a quick tip, it may be easier to remove the fluid lines from the unit prior to attempting removal and vice versa when reinstalling the new unit. This will enable you to undo the retaining nuts, bolts etc and have a good tension on the V belt.

Overall, for the small amount saved, I am of the opinion that you should hand the full job over to the specialists as you are only saving about half an hour of labour!

John S
12th March 2009, 01:26 PM
From memory, when I first bought my 450 the airconditioner required either replacement or seals, and (again from memory) it was the same unit fitted to GM cars at the time, so was relatively cheap. The cost was way less that I expected.

AAB
13th March 2009, 08:48 AM
I had the system converted to the " good stuff " some years ago, & have had a few recharges since.

It looks as though I need someone who knows what he is doing,..so who is the guru in Melbourne ?

Regards,

Alex

GreaseMonkey
13th March 2009, 04:31 PM
From memory, when I first bought my 450 the airconditioner required either replacement or seals, and (again from memory) it was the same unit fitted to GM cars at the time, so was relatively cheap. The cost was way less that I expected.

What 450 was that?
What year?
If you have an idea of a good replacement for that big old York type that was on my 280SE and both my 280Es I would like to know.
My 450 SLC though, has a smaller different type, maybe that is what you mean.
Always useful to know what fits.
C.M.

John S
13th March 2009, 06:01 PM
1976 450sel

GreaseMonkey
13th March 2009, 07:33 PM
1976 450sel

Ok, so probably the same as on my '76 450 SLC.
I wonder if there is a better replacement for that big York though?
C.M.

WGB
13th March 2009, 11:55 PM
The 280 uses the "York" compressor and a smaller condensor which does not lend itself to H134A very well.

The V8's use the frigidaire A6 which is widely used in Holden's (and a lot of cars of the period) and brand new ones as well as rebuilts are readily available for quite reasonable prices. They also have a large enough condensor to enable conversion to H134A.

I have a 450 and a 6.9 both of which were professionally converted with new compressors - the 450 has run perfectly for over 3 years and the 6.9 after some teething trouble with a porous manifold pipe has run perfectly for the last 6 months.

Both cars would no boubt be better with F12 (or the potentially dangerous hydrocarbon "Hychill") but they will work perfectly adequately in a Perth Suimmer on 134.

The only confusing part is the receiver/drier which is listed in all parts manuals (Including by M-B themselves) as being mounted on the left side of the radiator for both the 450 and the 6.9 but in reality is on the left for the 450 (and correctly listed) but on the right side on the 6.9. Fortunately the standard USA LHD 450/6.9 is on the right side and my replacement for my 6.9came from the US while my 450 one was sourced locally.

Bill

AAB
12th April 2009, 10:44 AM
Well, I spent a very pleasant Good Friday & lousy Saturday laying under my baby, & removing 3 of the 6 studs holding the A/C comp in place, took me most of that time. Boy those G & T's sure tasted good !!

I have a fully reco/d unit ready to go in but I would love to have a local Benz A/C guru do it for me.

Once again, any clues out there ?

If I have to do it myself, I will have to get some bench press practice in because the compressor weighs a " ton " !!

Regards,

Alex

abl567
14th April 2009, 02:47 PM
Hi AAB,

If Eltham is convienent to you give Eltham Star a call, 0488 519 158
Craig will take care of it for you, I have spoken to him today about it to make sure he sends me my cut;). Joke!!!!
Be sure to tell him Anthony Long gave you the number.
If he can sort the A/C in a pullman with front and back evaps he can sort a 450:D

WGB
14th April 2009, 06:22 PM
If you think the 450 compressor is hard to remove then you'd really love the 6.9:)

Bill

AAB
15th April 2009, 10:52 AM
abl,

Thanks for the phone number, & if I cannot get anyone a bit closer, I will give him the job.

Bill,

The 450 was a 6 G & T job each day !!,.. how many G & T's for the 6.9 ?

Regards,

Alex

WGB
15th April 2009, 11:43 PM
I think it would have been easier drinking the G&T's before starting.

I made the mistake of removing and replacing the compressor before I acquired the 6.9 engine repair manual and removed and replaced the compressor but left the mount in-situ.

The manual says to take out the whole assembly - compressor and mount together - not sure if there is enough room to remove this in one piece as removing the compressor alone was more like obstetrics than mechanics but it sure would have made getting the mounting bolts back in a lot easier.

If you are interested here is my posting at the time - http://www.topklasse.net.au/forums/showthread.php?t=340&highlight=compressorThe Compressor on a 6.9 is on the opposite side of the engine and mounted upside down as compared to the 450 with the adjuster arm pointing downwards instead of upwards.

I am happy to report that it has given perfect and unfailing service since the repair of the pipe through a hot West Australian summer.

Bill

Styria
16th April 2009, 06:30 AM
Hi Bill, I decided to re-read the original post going back almost a year or thereabouts. It re-affirms my original observation just how excellent the information contained therein is.

Again, I've got to say just how awkward this job is. Did it again not so long ago and my opinion has not changed. My A/C guy, a very experienced tradesman who is thoroughly familiar with 450s and 6.9s, recalls doing this sort of work about twenty years ago. Apparently, he swore to himself there and then to never get involved again. I think he's stuck to his plea. Regards Styria

AAB
17th April 2009, 11:46 AM
I have found a local Jaq & Roller repair man who knows a lot about the A6 compressor systems, so he is going to do the job for me.

He is also big in D-jet EFI systems.

Regards,

Alex

AAB
25th September 2009, 02:43 PM
Just finished the aricond, done by the Jag/Roller man.

Very happy,..the loan car was a 78 Daimler Jag, ( last time I got a 4 cyl Ford !!)..extremely comfy & handled very well, but did not seem to have much grunt.

As I said before, he is a good D-Jet man as well.

Regards,

Alex

WGB
25th September 2009, 10:59 PM
Sounds good - hope you are happy with the result.

Bill

Styria
26th September 2009, 02:15 AM
Hi AAB, just in time for summer because that is when, after all, it is most needed. In the end, did you install the unit yourself, or did the Jag-Roller man do the lot for you ?

Referring to your loan car - it is strange that it should have lacked torque, but when you're used to 6.9 liters, something's got to give. Regards Styria

AAB
26th September 2009, 01:59 PM
Styria,

I have an excellent photo of MrsAAB on the end of the handy billy that I used to install the compressor myself.

How do I post a photo ?

I can put it in photobucket or something similar, but I need to know how to attach.

Regards,

Alex

WGB
26th September 2009, 09:53 PM
You put the photo into photobucket or wherever that is accessible, copy the address, press the photo button (looks like a postcard of the pyramids with a postage stamp on it) and then paste the address into the box that opens up.

Bill

AAB
27th September 2009, 11:24 AM
Photo attachment trial Mk 1
http://s89.photobucket.com/albums/k211/AlexABarnes/BENZ003.jpg

AAB
27th September 2009, 11:36 AM
Got it !!..however, how do we get the photo directly into the thread without having to click onto the photobucket site ?

The handy billie is made up of pulleys that I bought from a sailing gear store ( definitely not cheap !! ) & nylon rope from Bunnings, rated capacity, 600 kg.

Obviously the " Respectable " Barnes is laying on the ground.

Regards,

Alex

WGB
27th September 2009, 09:07 PM
Worked fine Alex.

Picture is sitting in the thread perfectly.

Bill

AAB
28th September 2009, 11:18 AM
Bill,

Many thanks for your input.

There is a bit of confusion on my part in that when I looked in the thread before logging in, the photo is there, but when I logged in ( as in now ), my thread shows the internet address, & not the photo.

The photo was taken by delay, but the number plate was apparently obliterated by the flash,..it should read " AAB 007 ",

Regards,

Alex

WGB
28th September 2009, 12:05 PM
Anyway it's a great picture - I must show it to my wife but I'm not sure I'd get her to hold the rope.

Bill

Lukas
28th September 2009, 01:26 PM
There is a bit of confusion on my part in that when I looked in the thread before logging in, the photo is there, but when I logged in ( as in now ), my thread shows the internet address, & not the photo.

Is the A/C system so heavy that it needs a pulley system to lift it, or is it simply for holding it in place while you tighten bolts etc.?

Re the photo appearing as a link, that is a setting that is part of your login with TopKlasse - click on the "UserCP" link (top left), and then "Edit Options" under the "Settings & Options" menu heading on the left side.

On that page, scroll down until you see a heading "Thread Display Options", under that is a tickbox labelled "Show Images (including attached images and images in [IMG] code)" - check that.

Lukas

AAB
29th September 2009, 12:01 PM
Lukas,

Many thanks for the Edit options, works well.

The air comp is reasonably heavy, ( quite heavy for an old joker like myself !! ), but the main problem is getting two rotten little spacers to sit there while getting a stud, !!! any stud !! to line up & screw in.

I used silica as a temporary measure ( let it set over night ), to hold the spacers in place.

When the good lady had it at the right height, she tied the rope off to the car port column, & left me to it.

As they say in the classics, " the rest is history ",...2 & a half days to remove, but about 2 hours to replace.

The tools that I had to manufacture to get it off, helped no end.

Regards,

Alex

AAB
24th December 2009, 02:02 PM
Back again,

The aircond works perfectly, but in a drive back from Albury during a recent heat wave,the fan seemed to stop !! & we had minimal cooling.

Is there a thermostat or something that chips in if it thinks that we are getting too cool ?

Regards, & season's greetings to all,

Alex

BAR
11th February 2010, 11:00 PM
To the best of my knowledge there isn't an interior fan cutout (unless you have one of the rare climate control models).

You may find that the electric fan in front of the radiator isn't working - this unit is switched on via a thermostatic switch on the water pump and another on the receiver dryer (either or both will turn the fan on if they get hot).

You may need to check the fan switch itself (the one at top of centre console) or else the fan to see if the fan is burning out. ANother alternative is to replace all the old fashioned fuses with new (albeit) old fashioned fuses. QUite often they suffer from corrosion. AND always make sure to replace with fuse of SAME value not higher!

AAB
6th April 2012, 03:09 PM
Ah, wonderful memories,..It was 3 years ago, ( seems a lot longer ) Easter 2009 that I did the A/C compressor job..can still taste those G & T's.

Is she still going O.K. Tony ?

Since I bought the 1988 300SEL, I do not log in too often but lurk about a bit.

I have been spending a bit of time at " ozbenz.net ", which specialises in 126 Benzes & I have had a starting problem which has been resolved ( thank the Lord )

Happy Easter to all,

Regards,

Alex

Oversize
6th April 2012, 07:50 PM
Anyway it's a great picture - I must show it to my wife but I'm not sure I'd get her to hold the rope.

Bill

Hahahahahaha! Funny as!! :D

Welcome back AAB! I must say I love the dark grey Bundts of your old car. :)

Tony66_au
7th April 2012, 11:54 AM
G'day Alex and welcome back to posting mate!

Yep she is going fine, I have spent time on the mechanical and a bit of time halting the aging process and she is now purring like a large hungry kitten.

She is a credit to you and has made my work a lot easier as a result and should be on Club Reg this month and along the way has provided a few "How to" Tutorials as I sorted the idle issue and a handful of Vacuum issues.

Refurbished the AAV, reset the fuel pressure regs and retuned from base settings.

Had the front end checked on a hoist and she should be ok for the moment but will receive the full expertise of a good mate who used to do a lot of chassis work for me and others.

I have done nothing cosmetic as yet and the interior trim is still as she was although Styria will be helping with some nice carpet kits and at a later date a new leather GAAH interior if they have the colour.

So time allowing I will as promised pop over at a suitable time once she is done if I don't catch up with you before that!

It is great to hear all is well with you and you should still have my email address if you want to say g'day.

Cheers,
Tony